Golden Penny Wants You to WIN N1M Worth of Prizes & Cash


President Muhammadu Buhari, Monday night, signed the Quarantine Order on COVID-19.

This legally backs his extension of the lock down in Abuja, Lagos and Ogun States for another 14 days.

In details of the order released by the presidency, Buhari said, in response to the Covid-19 pandemic, he issued the Covid-19 Regulations, 2020 on 30th March, 2020, by which he declared Covid-19 a dangerous infectious disease.

“As part of efforts to defeat the disease, I ordered the restriction of movement in Lagos State, the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja and Ogun State for an initial period of 14 days with effect from 11pm of 30th March, 2020, to enable the Government identify, trace and isolate individuals that have come in contact with confirmed cases, in order to contain the disease.

“It has become expedient to extend the restriction to enable the Government achieve its objective.

“Now therefore, I, Muhammadu Buhari, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, in exercise of the powers conferred on me by sections 3 and 4 of the Quarantine Act and all other powers enabling me in that behalf, make the following Regulations;

“Extension of Restriction/cessation of Movement in Lagos, FCT and Ogun State: The restriction/cessation of movement in Lagos State, the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja and Ogun State is extended for a further period of 14 days with effect from Tuesday 14th April, 2020.

“Regulations Further to Covid-19 Regulations, 2020: These Regulations are made further to the Covid – 19 Regulations, 2020 and accordingly, all the responsibilities of government officials, citizens and residents contained in the Covid – 19 Regulations, 2020 remain extant.

“Exemptions in the Covid – 19 Regulations, 2020 Extant: All the exemptions under the Covid-19 Regulations, 2020 remain as exemptions under these Regulations.

“Citation: These Regulations may be cited as the Covid-19 Regulations No 2 of 2020 Made at Abuja this 13th day of April, 2020”, the order read.

Meanwhile, the Inspector General of Police, M.A Adamu, has ordered deployment of additional intelligence and operational assets of the Force to Lagos and Ogun.
This followed recent activities of hoodlums and street urchins.

Police Mobile Force (PMF) Units, Federal Special Anti-Robbery Squad (FSARS), Intelligence Response Team (IRT) and the Special Tactical Squad (STS) are now in the two states.

A statement by Force spokesman, Frank Mba, explained that they will strengthen security and bolster public confidence in the affected areas.

The Intervention Team is being coordinated by Deputy Inspector General of Police, DIG Peter Babatunde Ogunyanwo.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post