Golden Penny Wants You to WIN N1M Worth of Prizes & Cash
Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC) caretaker committee, Mai Mala Buni, has congratulated Godwin Obaseki on his reelection as governor of the state.

READ ALSO: APC Rejects Edo Governorship Election Result

Obaseki, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), polled 307,955 votes to defeat Osagie Ize-Iyamu, candidate of the APC, who secured 223,619 votes.

In a statement on Monday, Buni applauded the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and all the political parties that participated in the election.

He said the APC is committed to free and fair elections “in order to strengthen the foundation for our political and moral authority”. He said; 

“The September 19, 2020 Edo State Governorship election is over, the winner has been declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in the person of Mr. Godwin Obaseki, candidate of the People Democratic Party (PDP),” 

“We hereby congratulate the winner of the election, the people of Edo State and all Nigerians. The peaceful conduct of the election and its outcome represent victory for Nigeria’s democracy.

“As a party, we join our leader, President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR, to affirm our ‘commitment to free and fair elections’ in order to strengthen ‘the foundation for our political and moral authority’.

“We, in particular, want to salute our candidate in the election, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamuh for his tenacity and leadership. We similarly commend our Edo State leaders, especially our immediate past National Chairman, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole and all our members in Edo State for demonstrating unwavering support for our party and our candidate in the election. In the face of all the challenges, we collectively remained faithful and worked tirelessly during the campaigns.”

Buni appealed to Nigerians to unite and deepen the country’s democracy, adding that an end must be put to situations where elections are seen as war. He also said

We urge our candidate and all our members to join us in congratulating Mr. Godwin Obaseki and the PDP, being the declared winner of the election,” 

“Our attention must now shift to Ondo State and ensure that we win the October 10, 2020 election. September 19, 2020 Edo election should present a new watershed. We will work hard to win the Ondo election.”

Ize-Iyamu had said he was still studying the election results and would announce his next move soon.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post