Golden Penny Wants You to WIN N1M Worth of Prizes & Cash
The All Progressives Congress has officially rejected the 2020 Edo governorship election result in which Godwin Obaseki emerged as the Governor of the state.

The Independent National Electoral Commission had yesterday declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Godwin Obaseki, winner of the governorship election in Edo State, Sunday September 2020.

Prof. Akpofure Rim-Rukeh, the INEC’s Returning Officer announced the total result of the election. APC polled 223,619 votes, while PDP got 307,955 votes.

Chairman of the APC Media Campaign Council, John Mayaki has rejected the outcome of the election, in his statement alleged that there was foul play due to “strong-arm tactics”. Mayaki also claimed that there was an arbitrary arrest of local party members.

The statement read;
“On this note, we hereby reject the outcome of the election, and urge our members to stay calm. We thank them for their support. We’ll be announcing our decision and course of action shortly.

“Obaseki shouted that he was being rigged out and blamed INEC at the initial stage, but that was to divert attention from the evil going on in the field.

“The Party also notes the arbitrary arrest of our local party members, who could have resisted the outrage, while Mr Obaseki was busy diverting attention with false alarm.

“There were obvious illicit tampering with results, to shore up PDP numbers and mark down that of our party. Areas where we won, they cancelled them. They decreased the votes in areas we had advantage; they rejected our results and jerked up theirs.

“The ‘strong arm’ tactics, as seen in the election, cannot slide. Our people were arbitrarily arrested, while many of the figures were fabricated.”

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post